College Overview


This section covers the overview of the College of Management Sciences (COLMAS) as it is known today. Its formation and the departments under the College. In order to strengthen the mission and mandate of the University, the College obtained the National University Commission (NUC) approval to mount the Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.) degrees in Agribusiness in December, 2007.
The B. Sc. Agribusiness programme was expected to provide opportunities for the development of highly skilled and technically proficient upper level manpower in four specialized areas:


The first in-take into the various above mentioned options were admitted in the 2003/2004 academic session and were housed under the COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS.
In realization of the need to establish the programme on a solid foundation, the University Senate in 2004/2005 academic session, created an autonomous College called COLLEGE OF AGRIBUSINESS AND FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT (CABFM) in line with the provisions of the University of Agriculture (Miscellaneous provisions) Decree No. 4 of 1992, Section 3 (d), f and m. This College effectively commenced during the 2004/2005 academic session with Prof. Jude A. Mbanasor as its pioneer Dean of College,while Mr. P.N. Mbadiwe was the Co-coordinating Head of the four (4) options in the College.
A new department was created with effect from 2008/2009 academic session to house ACCOUNTING and BANKING AND FINANCE options, with Dr. John U. Ihendinihu as the pioneer Head. A further re-organization to enhance operational efficiency in the College led to the carving out of the BANKING & FINANCE option as an independent academic department with effect from 2010/2011 academic session.
A proposal for the renaming and restructuring of the College of Agribusiness and Financial Management (CABFM) was presented to the University’s Senate and was approved at its 143ul Senate regular meeting held on 30″’ May, 2012.
Consequent upon the approval, the College was renamed ‘COLLEGE OF MANAGEMENT SCIENCES’ (COLMAS), to house and run full administrative programmes in the University. This restructuring was to meet the National Universities Commission (NUC) “Benchmark Minimum Academic Standard (BMAS) for undergraduates programmes in Administration for the under listed departments.

  • Accounting
  • Banking & Finance
  • Marketing
  • Human Resource Management
  • Business Administration
  • Entrepreneurial Studies
  • Economics